clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Conference USA Announces Preliminary 2017 Television Schedule

New, 1 comment

The freshly-minted Stadium network is prominently featured in CUSA’s television offerings.

Middle Tennessee v Vanderbilt Photo by Frederick Breedon/Getty Images

Conference USA announced their preliminary TV schedule for 2017 and it features a few major surprises. While the schedule features all of the expected TV partners (ESPN, CBS Sports, BeIN, and Stadium), it seems that the conference has placed a huge premium on featuring their premier contests on the newly-incorporated Stadium network.

C-USA’s focus on Stadium becomes apparent in the first week of the season as Stadium will broadcast a double-header of two of the conference’s most intriguing home games of the entire season — UTSA’s match up against Major Applewhite’s Houston Cougars and the resurrection of UAB’s football program against Alabama A&M. The Blazers will kick off at 2:30 pm CT on September 2nd while UTSA and Houston gain prime time exposure at 6 pm CT.

Stadium also picks up many other key C-USA contests including this year’s Shula Bowl between FAU and FIU, The Rivalry in Dixie between Southern Miss and Lousiana Tech, and a potential C-USA Championship Game preview between Louisiana Tech and Western Kentucky. Stadium will also feature one of Conference USA’s home games against a Power 5 program as it will broadcast Old Dominion’s home game against North Carolina.

The conference’s shift to embracing Stadium and their linear and nonlinear broadcasting options could indicate a shift in thinking about media rights for C-USA as they approach contract negotiations for their next television contract.

Including ESPN3 broadcasts and bowl games, C-USA will be featured on TV networks on 69 occasions as of this publishing, 30 of which will fall on the ESPN family of networks. C-USA will likely add more televised contests after the AAC announces their TV schedule in the coming day.

One game on the schedule is tentatively scheduled as UTSA’s road trip to Louisiana Tech is still marked as “ESPN TBA”. It’s likely that ESPN sees this match up as potentially deciding the Conference USA Western division’s champion. If this head-to-head match up determines the division champion then it will likely be aired on ESPN2. If the division has already been decided by November 25th then the game will likely be broadcast on ESPN3, ESPNU, or ESPN News.

Conference USA avoided weekday games by and large as only eight of the league’s regular season contests will take place on weekdays, a stark contrast to the MAC who will play zero weekend games though the entire month of November. UTEP’s home game against Arizona was moved to Friday, giving the Miners a prime opportunity to display some #Pac12AfterDark action on ESPN.

Another key game of interest will be Middle Tennessee at WKU. This game could likely decide the Eastern division winner and will be broadcast at 7 pm CT on CBS Sports Friday, November 17th. Stay tuned for any potential additional television broadcast announcements as they’re released.

Conference USA TV Schedule 2017

Date Game Time (ET/CT) Network
Date Game Time (ET/CT) Network
Sat., Aug. 26 Stanford vs. Rice 10:00p ET/9:00p CT ESPN
Fri., Sept. 1 Charlotte at Eastern Michigan 6:30p ET/5:30p CT ESPN3
Fri., Sept. 1 Navy at Florida Atlantic 8:00p ET/7:00p CT ESPNU
Sat., Sept. 2 UTEP at Oklahoma 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Fox
Sat., Sept. 2 Alabama A&M at UAB 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Stadium
Sat., Sept. 2 Kentucky at Southern Miss 4:00p ET/3:00p CT CBSSN
Sat., Sept. 2 Houston at UTSA 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Sept. 2 Vanderbilt at Middle Tennessee 8:00p ET/7:00p CT CBSSN
Sat., Sept. 9 Charlotte at Kansas State 12:00p ET/11:00a CT FSN
Sat., Sept. 9 Florida Atlantic at Wisconsin 12:00p ET/11:00a CT BTN
Sat., Sept. 9 UAB at Ball State 3:00p ET/2:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Sept. 9 Middle Tennessee at Syracuse 3:30p ET/2:30p CT ACC Network/ESPN3
Sat., Sept. 9 Marshall at NC State 6:00p ET/5:00p CT ACC Network/ESPN3
Sat., Sept. 9 North Texas at SMU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Sept. 9 Southern at Southern Miss 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Sept. 9 Mississippi State at Louisiana Tech 7:30p ET/6:30p CT CBSSN
Sat., Sept. 9 Alcorn State at FIU TBA beIN SPORTS
Sat., Sept. 9 UTSA at Baylor 8:00p ET/7:00p CT FSN
Sat., Sept. 9 WKU at Illinois 8:00p ET/7:00p CT FSN
Fri., Sept. 15 Arizona at UTEP 10:15p ET/9:15p CT ESPN
Sat., Sept. 16 North Carolina at Old Dominion 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Stadium
Sat., Sept. 16 North Texas at Iowa 3:30p ET/2:30p CT ESPN2
Sat., Sept. 16 FIU at Indiana 3:30p ET/2:30p CT BTN
Sat., Sept. 16 Middle Tennessee at Minnesota 3:30p ET/2:30p CT BTN
Sat., Sept. 16 Louisiana Tech at WKU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Sept. 16 Southern Miss at UL Monroe 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Sept. 16 Bethune Cookman at Florida Atlantic 8:00p ET/7:00p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Sept. 16 Rice at Houston 8:00p ET/7:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Sept. 23 UAB at North Texas 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Sept. 23 Ball State at WKU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Sept. 30 UTEP at Army 3:30p ET/2:00p CT CBSSN
Sat., Sept. 30 Middle Tennessee at Florida Atlantic 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Oct. 7 Florida Atlantic at Old Dominion 6:00p ET/5:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Oct. 7 Army at Rice 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Oct. 7 FIU at Middle Tennessee 3:00p ET/2:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Oct. 14 Old Dominion at Marshall 2:30p ET/1:30p CT ESPN3
Sat., Oct. 14 Middle Tennessee at UAB 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Oct. 14 UTEP at Southern Miss 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Fri., Oct. 20 WKU at Old Dominion TBA CBSSN
Fri., Oct. 20 Marshall at Middle Tennessee 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN2
Sat., Oct. 21 UAB at Charlotte 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Oct. 21 Southern Miss at Louisiana Tech 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Oct. 21 North Texas at Florida Atlantic TBA ESPN3
Sat., Oct. 28 Florida Atlantic at WKU 4:30p ET/3:30p CT Stadium
Sat., Oct. 28 Old Dominion at North Texas TBA ESPN3
Fri., Nov. 3 Marshall at Florida Atlantic 6:00p ET/5:00p CT CBSSN
Sat., Nov. 4 Charlotte at Old Dominion 3:30p ET/2:30p CT ESPN3
Sat., Nov. 4 UTSA at FIU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Nov. 4 UTEP at Middle Tennessee 7:30p ET/6:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Nov. 11 Florida Atlantic at Louisiana Tech 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Stadium
Sat., Nov. 11 WKU at Marshall 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Nov. 11 Middle Tennessee at Charlotte 2:00p ET/1:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Nov. 11 UTEP at North Texas TBA ESPN3
Fri., Nov. 17 Middle Tennessee at WKU 8:00p ET/7:00p CT CBSSN
Sat., Nov. 18 Army at North Texas 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Nov. 18 FIU at Florida Atlantic 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
Sat., Nov. 18 Rice at Old Dominion 2:00p ET/1:00p CT ESPN3
Fri., Nov. 24 WKU at FIU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT beIN SPORTS
Sat., Nov. 25 Southern Miss at Marshall 2:30p ET/1:30p CT Stadium
Sat., Nov. 25 UTSA at Louisiana Tech TBA ESPN TBA
Sat., Nov. 25 Old Dominion at Middle Tennessee 3:00p ET/2:00p CT ESPN3
Sat., Nov. 25 North Texas at Rice 1 pm ET/12p CT ESPN3
Sat., Dec. 16 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl 1:00p ET/12:00p CT ESPN
Sat., Dec. 16 Gildan New Mexico Bowl 4:30p ET/3:30p CT ESPN
Tue., Dec.19 Boca Raton Bowl 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN
Thu., Dec. 21 St. Petersburg Bowl 8:00p ET/7:00p CT ESPN
Fri., Dec. 22 Bahamas Bowl 12:30p ET/11:30a CT ESPN
Tue., Dec. 26 Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl TBA ESPN
Wed., Dec. 27 Independence Bowl 1:30p ET/12:30p CT ESPN
Conference USA 2017 TV Schedule Conference USA