clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A-State collects a pile of Sun Belt honors (but no big ones).

Despite dominating 8-0 the conference with a perfect 8-0 mark, the Red Wolves were shut-out of major Sun Belt end-of-season honors.

Michael Gordon received 2nd Team Sun Belt honors.
Michael Gordon received 2nd Team Sun Belt honors.
Harry How/Getty Images

Maybe it's because football is a team effort and great teams aren't propelled by one or two superstars. Or maybe the Sun Belt was just really impressed with 6-6 Georgia State. Regardless of the reasons, the Sun Belt's End of Year Honors are heavy on Panthers, with QB Nick Arbuckle winning "Student Athlete of the Year," WR Penny Hart winning "Freshman of the Year" and Coach Trent Miles earning "Coaching of the Year" honors.

Not that the Red Wolves aren't well represented. Five Arkansas State standouts earned First Team honors: J.D. McKissic (special teams), Rocky Hayes and Ja'Von Roland-Jones (defense), and Jemar Clark and Colton Jackson (offensive).

The Sun Belt Second Team features Fredi Knighten, Tres Houston, Michael Gordon, J.D. McKissic (this time as a WR), Chris Stone, and Cody Brown. Honorable Mentions went to Darion Griswold, Khari Lane, Robert Mondie and Dijon Paschal.

Warren Wand was also selected to the Sun Belt's "Newcomer" Team.

The Defensive Student-Athlete of the Year went to Appalachian State's Ronald Blair. We only note this because A-State's offense put up 40-points on the Mountaineers at Boone. But I'm just looking at stats.