clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2023 All-AAC Teams and Individual Awards Revealed

Tulane and SMU share 15 All-AAC selections, headlined by AAC Offensive Player of the Year Michael Pratt.

NCAA Football: Tulane at Memphis Petre Thomas-USA TODAY Sports

The 2023 All-AAC teams and individual awards were revealed by the conference on Wednesday, three days before Tulane hosts SMU in the AAC Championship Game.

Individual Awards

The individual awards were voted on by the AAC’s 14 head coaches:

  • Offensive Player of the Year: Michael Pratt, QB, Tulane
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Trey Moore, OLB, UTSA
  • Special Teams Player of the Year: LaJohntay Wester, WR/RS, Florida Atlantic
  • Rookie of the Year: Makhi Hughes, RB, Tulane
  • Coach of the Year: Willie Fritz, RB, Tulane

All-AAC Teams

The AAC released First, Second, and Third team selections. After expanding from 11 to 14 members, this is the first season the conference included a Third team.

2023 All-AAC First Team

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
QB Michael Pratt Tulane
QB Frank Harris UTSA
RB Blake Watson Memphis
RB Makhi Hughes Tulane
WR LaJohntay Wester Florida Atlantic
WR Luke McCaffrey Rice
WR Joshua Cephus UTSA
TE RJ Maryland SMU
C Sincere Haynesworth Tulane
OG Justin Osborne SMU
OG Logan Parr SMU
OT Marcus Bryant SMU
OT Cameron Wire Tulane
DL Elijah Chatman SMU
DL Darius Hodges Tulane
DL Patrick Jenkins Tulane
DL Ben Kopenski Tulsa
LB Demetrius Knight II Charlotte
LB Colin Ramos Navy
LB Chandler Martin Memphis
LB Trey Moore UTSA
CB Kam Alexander UTSA
CB Jarius Monroe Tulane
S Julius Wood East Carolina
S Rashad Wisdom UTSA
K Collin Rogers SMU
P Riley Riethman Navy
RS LaJohntay Wester Florida Atlantic

2023 All-AAC Second Team

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
QB Seth Henigan Memphis
RB Ayo Adeyi North Texas
RB Jaylan Knighton SMU
WR Roc Taylor Memphis
WR Ja'Mori Maclin North Texas
WR Sean Atkins South Florida
TE David Martin-Robinson Temple
C Branson Hickman SMU
OG Gabe Blair North Texas
OG Terrell Haynes UTSA
OT Chaz Neal Florida Atlantic
OT Xavier Hill Memphis
DL Eyabi Okie-Anoma Charlotte
DL D'Anta Johnson East Carolina
DL Jaylon Allen Memphis
DL Elijah Roberts SMU
LB Kobe Wilson SMU
LB Donyai Taylor UTSA
LB Jordan Magee Temple
LB Jesus Machado Tulane
CB Shavon Revel East Carolina
CB Lance Robinson Tulane
S Kam Pedescleaux Tulane
S Kendarin Ray Tulsa
K Chase Allen UTSA
P Lucas Dean UTSA
RS Roderick Daniels Jr. SMU

2023 All-AAC Third Team

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
QB Preston Stone SMU
RB Jermaine Brown Jr. UAB
RB Anthony Watkins Tulsa
WR Tejhaun Plamer UAB
WR Chris Brazzell Tulane
WR Lawrence Keys III Tulane
TE Oscar Cardenas UTSA
C Jacob Likes Memphis
OG Febechi Nwaiwu North Texas
OG Chester Baah Tulsa
OT Ernesto Almaraz UTSA
OT Rashad Green Tulane
DL Evan Anderson Florida Atlantic
DL Brandon Brown UTSA
DL Joe Evans UTSA
DL Brandon Matterson UTSA
LB Nikhai Hill-Green Charlotte
LB Jeremy Lewis East Carolina
LB Jordan Brown North Texas
LB Tyler Grubbs Tulane
CB Dontae Balfour Charlotte
CB Charles Woods SMU
S Jarron Morris Florida Atlantic
S Simeon Blair Memphis
S Rayuan Lane Navy
S Jonathan McGill SMU
K Noah Rauschenberg North Texas
K Chase Meyer Tulsa
P Ryan Bujcevski SMU
RS Jha'Quan Jackson Tulane

All-AAC Honorable Mention

The AAC released a list of 26 players receiving honorable mention status:

2023 All-AAC Honorable Mention

Pos. Player College
Pos. Player College
P Grant Gonya Charlotte
G Kevin Williams Charlotte
DL Chad Stephens East Carolina
LB Geoffrey Cantin-Arku Memphis
LB Will Harbour Navy
CB Dashaun Peele Navy
RB Alex Tecza Navy
RB Dean Connors Rice
LB Myron Morrison Rice
LB Josh Pearcy Rice
S Gabe Taylor Rice
CB Aamaris Brown-Bunkley South Florida
DL Rashad Cheney South Florida
G Zane Herring South Florida
LB Jhalyn Shuler South Florida
CB Chris Megginson SMU
LB Ahmad Walker SMU
OT Hyrin White SMU
G Cory Godinet UTSA
LB Jamal Ligon UTSA
LB Devean Deal Tulane
P Will Karoll Tulane
RS Shedro Louis Tulane
OT Darrell Simpson Tulsa
G Wisdom Quarshie Temple
OT Victor Stoffel Temple

All-AAC Breakdown by Team - Total (First, Second)

  • Tulane - 15 (7, 3, 5)
  • SMU - 15 (6, 5, 4)
  • UTSA - 14 (5, 4, 5)
  • Memphis - 8 (2, 4, 2)
  • North Texas - 6 (0, 3, 3)
  • Florida Atlantic - 5 (2, 1, 2)
  • Tulsa - 5 (1, 1, 3)
  • East Carolina - 4 (1, 2, 1)
  • Charlotte - 4 (1, 1, 2)
  • Navy - 3 (2, 0, 1)
  • Temple - 2 (0, 2, 0)
  • UAB - 2 (0, 0, 2)
  • Rice - 1 (1, 0, 0)
  • South Florida - 1 (0, 1, 0)

Additional Notes

  • Tulane QB Michael Pratt is the second consecutive Tulane player to win AAC Offensive Player of the Year. His former teammate Tyjae Spears claimed the honors in 2022. They are the only Tulane players to win AAC Offensive Player of the Year all-time.
  • UTSA OLB Trey Moore is the first UTSA player to win the AAC Defensive Player of the Year, claiming it in the Roadrunners’ inaugural year in the conference.
  • Florida Atlantic WR LaJohntay Wester is the first Florida Atlantic player to win the AAC Special Teams Player of the Year, claiming it in the Owls’ inaugural year in the conference.
  • Tulane RB Makhi Hughes is the first Tulane player to win the AAC Rookie of the Year. This award has gone to a running back in five of the past six seasons.
  • Tulane head coach Willie Fritz is a back-to-back winner of AAC Coach of the Year. He joins former Cincinnati head coach Luke Fickell and former Navy head coach Ken Niumatalolo as multi-time winners. Both also won the award in back-to-back years.
  • Tulane and SMU tie for overall All-AAC selections with 15. Tulane showcases the most First Team All-AAC selections at 7. The Green Wave led the conference in most overall selections (13) and tied for most First Team selections (6) in 2022.
  • UTSA ranked first among the AAC newcomers with 14 overall selections and 5 First Team selections.
  • Florida Atlantic WR LaJohntay Wester is also the only player to receive multiple selections to the 2023 All-AAC team, landing on the First Team as both a wide receiver and return specialist.
  • Tulane C Sincere Haynesworth and Tulane CB Jarius Monroe are the only back-to-back First Team All-AAC selections, receiving the honor in both 2022 and 2023.
  • Tulane QB Michael Pratt, SMU G Justin Osborne, Tulane DE Darius Hodges, Tulane DT Patrick Jenkins, SMU DT Elijah Chatman, and Tulane RS Jha’Quan Jackson are the six 2022 Second Team All-AAC selections to receive repeat selections in 2023.
  • SMU DT Elijah Chatman and Tulane C Sincere Haynesworth are the only active three-time All-AAC selections. Chatman earned Second Team honors in 2021, Second Team honors in 2022, and First Team honors in 2023. Haynesworth earned Second Team honors in 2020, First Team honors in 2022, and First Team honors in 2023.