clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three things we learned from Conference USA in Week 9: Midseason Awards Edition

Halfway through conference play, it’s time to predict who will make the all-conference team.

NCAA Football: North Texas at Southern Mississippi Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports

As some of you may know, typically we use this article to figure out what we learned about Conference USA after the previous week’s action. After Week 9 I didn’t really feel like we learned anything new. Rather than repeat previously mentioned storylines, I thought it would be cool to follow up on an idea from one of our readers.

Now that every team in Conference USA has played at least half of their conference schedule, lets try to make some educated guesses as to who will take home some C-USA awards at season’s end. Below are my picks. I followed the same format C-USA uses to issue out their awards.

C-USA Football All-Conference First Team

Quarterback: Mason Fine

Running back: Devin Singletary, Spencer Brown

Offensive linemen: O’Shea Dugas, Chandler Brewer, Jordan Budwig, Levi Brown

Tight End: Harrison Bryant

Wide Receiver: Jonathan Duhart, Rico Bussey Jr., Tyre Brady

Defensive Linemen: Jaylon Ferguson, Oshane Ximines, Jamell Garcia-Williams, Ty Tyler

Linebacker: Juwan Foggle, E.J. Ejiya, Sage Lewis

Defensive Back: Amik Robertson, Nate Brooks, Kemon Hall, Ky’el Hemby

Kicker: Jose Borregales

Punter: Jack Fox

Kickoff Returner: Kerrith Whyte Jr.

Punt Returner: Maurice Alexander


Most Valuable Player: Brent Stockstill

Offensive Player of the Year: Devin Singletary

Defensive Player of the Year: Jaylon Ferguson

Special Teams Player of the Year: Jose Borregales

Newcomer of the Year: Jovon Durante

Coach of the Year: Butch Davis

Miscellaneous thoughts

  • As you can see, I only did the first-team and feel really good about the defense selections. UAB has without a doubt the best defense in the conference, but we might not see too many Blazers appear on the first-team.
  • So many deserving players for the Defensive Player of the Year Award. E.J. Ejiya has been spectacular but I think Ferguson will take it.
  • The offensive awards given out in C-USA has mainly favored the guys who put up the most stats. I’m not confident Stockstill will actually win the MVP award but he should.
  • Coach of the Year typically goes to the guy who overachieves so I went with Butch seeing as how FIU was picked to finish near the bottom of C-USA East, but I could see Bill Clark winning the award if the Blazers finish with 10 wins.
  • I don’t have the best eyes for offensive line play so I’m missing one more guy for the team. If there’s some other guys who you feel deserve the first-team honor let me know in the comments section.