clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdog Watch Lists: Bronko Nagurski and Outland Trophy Awards

The Florida AAC twins dominate G5 foes in Nagurski and Outland watch list recognition.

NCAA Football: Mississippi State at Massachusetts
Steve Casali of UMass was named to the Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List.
Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

As the national award watch lists are announced throughout July, we’ll let you know which Group of 5 players are preseason candidates for them. The watch lists will come out each weekday from July 10 until July 21.

Today’s watch list announcements come from the Bronko Nagurski and Outland Trophy awards. The Nagurski honors the top defensive player in college football while the Outland Trophy is awarded to the best interior lineman in the nation.

Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List

Alex Aukerman, LB, Army West Point

Genard Avery, LB, Memphis

Eric Boggs, LB, Appalachian State

Blace Brown, DB, Troy

Steve Casali, LB, UMass

Andre Chachere, DB, San Jose State

Sean Chandler, DB, Temple

Aikeem Coleman, DE, Idaho

Emmanuel Ellerbee, LB, Rice

Folorunse Fatukasi, DT, UConn

Jaylon Ferguson, DE, Louisiana Tech

Ulysees Gilbert III, LB, Akron

Shaquem Griffin, LB, UCF

Heath Harding, DB, Miami (OH)

Justin Lawler, DE, SMU

Shawun Lurry, DB, NIU

David Moa, DT, Boise State

Deatrick Nichols, DB, USF

Ed Oliver, DT, Houston

Jeremy Reaves, DB, South Alabama

Malik Reed, DE, Nevada

Ja’Von Rolland-Jones, DE, Arkansas State

Auggie Sanchez, LB, USF

Deadrin Senat, DT, USF

Jahlani Tavai, LB, Hawaii

Micah Thomas, LB, Navy

Andrew Wingard, DB, Wyoming

Jaden Wright, DB, New Mexico State

Outland Trophy Award Watch List

Jake Bennett, C, Colorado State

Evan Brown, C, SMU

Austin Corbett, OT, Nevada

O’Shea Dugas, G, Louisiana Tech

Folorunso Fatukasi, DT, UConn

Colby Gossett, G, Appalachian State

Will Hernandez, G, UTEP

John Keenoy, C, Western Michigan

Tejan Koroma, C, BYU

Gabe Kuhn, G, Memphis

Jimmy Leatiota, G, Eastern Michigan

Archie Lewis, OT, Boise State

Evan Martin, G, Navy

Chandler Miller, C, Tulsa

David Moa, DT, Boise State

Elijah Nkansah, OT, Toledo

Chukwuma Okorafor, OT, Western Michigan

Ed Oliver, DT, Houston

Jamiyus Pittman, DT, UCF

Evan Plagg, OT, Tulsa

Jake Pruehs, C, Ohio

Max Scharping, OT, NIU

Deadrin Senat, DT, USF

Brett Toth, OT, Army West Point

Selections by conference:

AAC: 19

Conference USA: 4

Sun Belt: 7

Independents: 4

UCF and USF lead the way among Underdogs with six combined selections. Army West Point had two players selected while Navy matched the cadets with two selections of their own. Due to a severe down year in talent along the interior of the defensive line, Conference USA had a poor showing with just four selections, two of which came from Louisiana Tech. Recognition was spread out in the Sun Belt with Troy, NMSU, Appalachian State, South Alabama, Idaho, and Arkansas State all earning honors.

Total Watch List Selections Thus Far

AAC: 44

C-USA: 25

Sun Belt: 19

Independents: 6

Last G5 Winners

Bronko Nagurski: 2015 - Tyler Matakevich, Temple

Outland Trophy: 1989 - Mohammed Elewonibi, BYU