clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdog Watch Lists: Maxwell and Bednarik Awards

28 G5 players make the first two watch lists

NCAA Football: Texas Kickoff-Oklahoma vs Houston Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

As the national award watch lists are announced throughout July, we’ll let you know which Group of 5 players are preseason candidates for them. The watch lists will come out each weekday from July 10 until July 21.

The first two lists were announced today, the Bednarik and Maxwell award watch lists. The Bednarik Award recognizes the best defensive player in the nation, while the Maxwell Award recognizes the best overall player.

Bednarik Award Watch List

NCAA Football: Central Florida at Houston
Shaquem Griffin, UCF
Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Sean Chandler, S - Temple Owls

Jaylon Ferguson, DE - Louisiana Tech Bulldogs

Shaquem Griffin, LB - UCF Knights

Heath Harding, CB - Miami RedHawks

Justin Lawler, DE - SMU Mustangs

David Moa, NT - Boise State Broncos

Deatrick Nichols, CB - South Florida Bulls

NCAA Football: Cure Bowl-Central Florida vs Arkansas State
Ja’Von Rolland Jones, Arkansas State (11)
Logan Bowles-USA TODAY Sports

Ed Oliver, DT - Houston Cougars

Malik Reed, DE - Nevada Wolf Pack

Ja’Von Rolland-Jones, DE - Arkansas State Red Wolves

Jahlani Tavai, LB - Hawaii Warriors

Micah Thomas, LB - Navy Midshipmen

Andrew Wingard, S - Wyoming Cowboys

Maxwell Award Watch List

NCAA Football: Old Dominion at Florida International
Ray Lawry, Old Dominion
Robert Mayer-USA TODAY Sports

Josh Allen, QB - Wyoming Cowboys

D’Angelo Brewer, RB - Tulsa Golden Hurricane

Riley Ferguson, QB - Memphis Tigers

Quinton Flowers, QB - South Florida Bulls

James Gilbert, RB - Ball State Cardinals

Ray Lawry, RB - Old Dominion Monarchs

Jalin Moore, RB - Appalachian State Mountaineers

Ed Oliver, DT - Houston Cougars

Rashaad Penny, RB - San Diego State Aztecs

NCAA Football: Vanderbilt at Middle Tennessee
Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee
Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports

Larry Rose III, RB - New Mexico State Aggies

Brett Rypien, QB - Boise State Broncos

Brandon Silvers, QB - Troy Trojans

Ito Smith, RB - Southern Miss Golden Eagles

Brent Stockstill, QB - Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders

Mike White, QB - Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Logan Woodside, QB - Toledo Rockets

Selections by conference:

AAC: Nine

C-USA: Five

Sun Belt: Four

Ed Oliver of Houston is the only G5 player to make both lists.

USF leads the way for the AAC with two selections, although Houston’s Ed Oliver made both lists. Memphis, Navy, SMU, Temple, Tulsa, and UCF each had one, as well.

For C-USA, Louisiana Tech, Middle Tennessee, Old Dominion, Southern Miss, and WKU each had one selection.

Finally, the Sun Belt had one selection each for Appalachian State, Arkansas State, New Mexico State, and Troy.

Last G5 Winners:

Bednarik: 2015 - Tyler Matakevich, Temple

Maxwell: 1990 - Ty Detmer, BYU