clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

WKU Sets Dates For 2017 Spring Game and Open Practices

The Mike Sanford era officially begins March 23rd.

NCAA Football: C-USA Championship-Louisiana Tech at Western Kentucky
 2016 C-USA Newcomer of the Year Mike White is a key piece of the puzzle for a young WKU team.
Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports

Western Kentucky Football announced this week that the team will hold its first practice of the spring on Thursday, March 23rd.

The Tops will then practice every Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday between then and April 21st. All spring practices will be open to the general public and run from 4:15 PM to 6:15 PM CST.

It all culminates in the Red and White Spring Game on Saturday, April 22nd at 3 PM CST.

The complete spring schedule looks like this:

1. Thursday, March 23

2. Friday, March 24

3. Tuesday, March 28

4. Thursday, March 30

5. Friday, March 31

6. Tuesday, April 4

7. Thursday, April 6

8. Friday, April 7

9. Tuesday, April 11

10. Thursday, April 13

11. Friday, April 14

12. Tuesday, April 18

13. Thursday, April 20

14. Friday, April 21

15. Saturday, April 22 (Red and White Spring Game -- 3 p.m.)

(Via WKUSports.com)

This marks our first real chance to see the new coaching staff in action, along with a chance to see who the front runners are for the 12 open starting spots.

We’ll keep an eye on those position battles as they wage on in the buildup to what could be a third straight conference championship season.