clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdog big boys roll onto the 2016 Outland Trophy Watch List

The Outland Trophy recognizes college football's finest interior lineman. And the Underdogs are lining up for a shot at the glory.

Nico Siragusa of San Diego leads 19 Underdogs on the Outland Trophy Watch List
Nico Siragusa of San Diego leads 19 Underdogs on the Outland Trophy Watch List
Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

In college football, the "skill players" receive the accolades, and the big boys get the bruises. But at least someone recognizes the rise-and-grind of the sport's armored tank division. The Football Writers Association of America has handed out the Outland Trophy to the toughest interior linemen since 1946, and in 70 years the Underdogs have collected the award five measly times (the last being Mohammed Elewanibi of BYU Cougars in 1989).

Can the Underdogs break a 27-year dry spell? A total of 19 Underdogs (counting 2 BYU Cougars) are sprinkled in a total of 70 nominees. Here's how it breaks down by conference according to the NCAA:

The SEC (12) led all conferences, followed by the Big Ten (11), ACC (10), Pac-12 (10), Big 12 (6), American Athletic (4), Conference USA (4), Independents (4), Mountain West (4), Mid-American (3) and Sun Belt (2).

Who's the best prime beef in college football? As always, I've generously plucked the Underdogs from the meat barrel so you may contemplate unfettered.

Underdogs appearing on the 2016 Outland Trophy Watch List

J.T. Boyd, C, East Carolina Pirates

Parker Collins, G, Appalachian St. Mountaineers

Austin Corbett, OT, Nevada Wolf Pack

Dion Dawkins, OT, Temple Owls

Antonio Garcia, OT, Troy Trojans

Treyvon Hester, DT, Toledo Rockets

Forrest Lamp, OT, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Ului Lapuaho, G, BYU Cougars

Taylor Moton, OT, Western Michigan Broncos

Storm Norton, OT, Toledo Rockets

Larry Ogunjobi, OT, Charlotte 49ers

Chase Roullier, G, Wyoming Cowboys

Nico Siragusa, G, San Diego State Aztecs

Tanzel Smart, DT, Tulane Green Wave

Chris Taylor, G, Tulane Green Wave

Cameron Tom, C, Southern Miss Golden Eagles

Travis Tuiloma, DT, BYU Cougars

Clint Van Horn, OT, Marshall Thundering Herd

Fred Zerblis, G, Colorado State Rams