clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdog kickers storm the 2016 Lou Groza Watch List

In 1992,The Palm Beach County Sports Commission established the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker award which has become the most prestigious college football award for kickers. We want one.

Kyle Bullard of Houston looks to bring Lou Groza glory to the Underdogs
Kyle Bullard of Houston looks to bring Lou Groza glory to the Underdogs
Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

The very first winner of the Lou Groza Award was an Underdog, Joe Allison from the Memphis Tigers in 1992. Since then, three more Underdogs have won the award given to the most exceptional place-kicker in FBS college football.

This year, nine of the 30 kickers selected to the Lou Groza Watch List are Underdogs, with the MAC leading all G5 conferences with three. (Way to kick ass, MAC!) Last year's winner, Brad Craddock of the Maryland Terrapins, also made the list.

Did your favorite place-kicker make the list? Deep down, you want to know, so I took the time and trouble to extrapolate the Underdogs from the list. You're very welcome.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Lou Groza Award Watch List

Kyle Bullard, Houston Cougars

Andrew Gantz, Cincinnati Bearcats

Donny Hageman, San Diego State Aztecs

Andrew Haldeman, Western Michigan Broncos

Jay Mattox, Texas-El Paso Miners

Trevor Moore, North Texas Mean Green

Robert Stein, Akron Zips

Aleem Sunanon, South Alabama Jaguars

Tyler Tate, Bowling Green Falcons