clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdogs crash the 2016 John Mackey Award Watch List

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who "best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey." No pressure!

Barrett Burns is one of 18 Underdogs who made the 2016 Mackey Award Watch List
Barrett Burns is one of 18 Underdogs who made the 2016 Mackey Award Watch List
Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

I have some great news for y'all. Forty-five student athletes were named to the 2016 Mackey Award watch list, and 18 are bona fide Underdogs. That's 40% of the list, bruthas! Fist pump!

Here's the bad news: since the founding of the Mackey Award in the year 2000, zero Underdogs have won. Zero! What, like we don't have good tight ends or something?

Anyway, check to see if your tight end made the list.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Mackey Award Watch List

Barrett Burns, Appalachian St. Mountaineers

Connor Cella, Rice Owls

Buck Cowan, Idaho Vandals

Elkanah Dillon, South Florida Bulls

DJ Dowdy, Cincinnati Bearcats

Billy Freeman, San Jose State Spartans

Jarred Gipson, Nevada Wolf Pack

Wyatt Houston, Utah State Aggies

Hayden Plinke, Texas-El Paso Miners

Michael Roberts, Toledo Rockets

Jake Roh, Boise State Broncos

Keith Rucker, Georgia State Panthers

Mason Schrek, Buffalo Bulls

Jonnu Smith, FIU Panthers

Todd Stafford, Massachusetts Minutemen

Colin Thompson, Temple Owls

Cody Tuttle, Eastern Michigan Eagles

Ryan Yurachek, Marshall Thundering Herd

Gerald Everett, South Alabama Jaguars