clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdogs pounce on the Rimington Trophy Watch List

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I-A football and is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America Teams. So to win, you'd better be a damn good center.

Arthur Flores of the Aztecs is one of 25 Underdogs on watch for the 2016 Rimington Trophy
Arthur Flores of the Aztecs is one of 25 Underdogs on watch for the 2016 Rimington Trophy
Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the nation's outstanding college center, and it was established in the year 2000 because somebody noticed that there wasn't an award given to the nation's outstanding college center. That's a crime. The center, as we all know, is King of the Offensive Line and the nation's best center probably deserves a trophy and a battleship. But that's meat for another column.

It may surprise you to learn that no Underdog has won the Rimington Trophy in the award's 15 year history. However, a hefty 25 Underdogs make the 2016 Rimington Trophy Watch List, all of them outstanding candidates and excellent student-athletes.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Rimington Trophy Watch List

Andy Kwon, Georgia Southern Eagles

Arthur Flores, San Diego State Aztecs

Asotui Eli, Hawaii Warriors

Austin Stephens, Utah State Aggies

Brendan McGowan, Temple Owls

Cameron Tom, Southern Miss Golden Eagles

Chandler Miller, Tulsa Golden Hurricane

Daniel Stephens, Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders

Devin Mondie, Arkansas State Red Wolves

Deyshawn Bond, Cincinnati Bearcats

Dillion DeBoer, Florida Atlantic Owls

Drew Kyser, Memphis Tigers

Evan Brown, SMU Mustangs

Gabe Mobley, Georgia State Panthers

Jake Bennett, Colorado State Rams

James O'Hagan, Buffalo Bulls

Max Halpin, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Michael Montero, FIU Panthers

Nathan Goltry, Nevada Wolf Pack

Nick Clarke, Old Dominion Monarchs

Ryan Crozier, Connecticut Huskies

Steve Matlock, Idaho Vandals

Tim McAuliffe, Bowling Green Falcons

Will Kreitler, UNLV Rebels

Will Noble, Houston Cougars