clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdog QBs throwing deep on the 2016 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

The Davey O'Brien Award is delivered to the nation's best college quarterback. The Underdogs are breaking the huddle.

Nick Mullins of Southern Miss is one of 11 Underdogs seeking a Davey O'Brien Award
Nick Mullins of Southern Miss is one of 11 Underdogs seeking a Davey O'Brien Award
Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports

As far as watch lists go, the Davey O'Brien's succinct list of 30 is pretty restrained, as if the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee took real time and effort to compile the ballot. And unlike the crappy Dodd Trophy, it's not stacked with the obvious Power Five superstars. In fact, 36% of this year's Davey O'Brien watch list is comprised of bona fide Underdogs (led by the AAC with 4). Bravo, committee members!

Underdogs have experienced a bit of a Davey O'Brien dry spell. We haven't won one since BYU's Ty Detmer toted a Davey for the WAC in 1991. (In fact, BYU has won a whopping five Davey O'Briens, which boggles the mind.)

Because I'm a swell guy who, under the right lighting, can be devastatingly handsome, I listed the 11 Underdogs up for a Davey O'Brien just for you.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Davey O'Brien Watch List

Dave Evans, Tulsa Golden Hurricane

Quinton Flowers, South Florida Bulls

Taylor Lamb, Appalachian St. Mountaineers

Tanner Mangum, BYU Cougars

Nick Mullens, Southern Miss Golden Eagles

Cooper Rush, Central Michigan Chippewas

Brett Rypien, Boise State Broncos

Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders

Zach Terrell, Western Michigan Broncos

Phillip Walker, Temple Owls

Greg Ward Jr., Houston Cougars