clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdog receivers are wide open on the 2016 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

The Biletnikoff Award is presented to the nation's most outstanding college football pass catcher. And the Underdogs are going long.

Georgia State's Robert Davis looks to pull free of the P5.
Georgia State's Robert Davis looks to pull free of the P5.
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

I couldn't count every player who made the The Biletnikoff Award Watch List (I ran out of fingers), but rest assured, it's a lot of guys. Still, your guy is probably not on the list because the Bilentnikoff recognizes a wide range of players. I'll let the BA People explain it themselves:

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the season’s outstanding college football receiver regardless of position (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass hence, tight ends, slot receivers and backs, inside receivers, wide receivers, split ends, and running backs are eligible) by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., (TQC).

There was a glorious stretch of time when Underdogs won the Biletnikoff three years straight (1996-1998, Wyoming, Marshall and Louisiana Tech). Since then, nada. It's as if the Lords of the Power Five convened at a fancy Ritz Carlton and decreed ENOUGH! But who knows, right?

Because I'm exceedingly kind, I plucked the Underdogs from the big list and prepared a fresh list for you to peruse at your leisure.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Rodney Adams, South Florida Bulls

Chance Allen, Houston Cougars

Josh Atkinson, Tulsa Golden Hurricane

Devonte Boyd, UNLV Rebels

Corey Davis, Western Michigan Broncos

Robert Davis, Georgia State Panthers

Kenny Golladay, Northern Illinois Huskies

Penny Hart, Georgia State Panthers

Carlos Henderson, Louisiana Tech Bulldogs

Hasaan Henderson, Nevada Wolf Pack

Richie James, Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders

Isiah Jones, East Carolina Pirates

Jesse Kroll, Central Michigan Chippewas

Jerome Lane, Akron Zips

KeVonn Mabon, Ball State Cardinals

Ronnie Moore, Bowling Green Falcons

Nicholas Norris, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Zach Pascal, Old Dominion Monarchs

Jerico Richardson, Nevada Wolf Pack

Thomas Sperbeck, Boise State Broncos

Courtland Sutton, SMU Mustangs

Taywan Taylor, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Trent Taylor, Louisiana Tech Bulldogs

Cody Thompson, Toledo Rockets

If I've missed an Underdog, please alert me in the comments section.