clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdogs pound the Dick Butkus Award Watch List

Instituted in 1985, The Butkus Award honors the most brutal (but social conscious) college linebacker. And yes, the Underdogs kicked some Butkus.

Shane Huber of UMass looks to end a 31-year Dick Butkus Snub
Shane Huber of UMass looks to end a 31-year Dick Butkus Snub
Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

It may disappoint you to learn that in the glorious 31-year history of the Dick Butkus Award, not one Underdog has been handed the hardware. None! Are you kidding me? Come on, Dick Butkus Committee! You gave it to Brian Bosworth twice! You can't give it to the Group of Five once?

A lucky 13 Underdogs have earned the attention of the 51 "experts" that comprise the Butkus Award Selection Committee(including BYU and FCS North Dakota State). Odds don't particularly favor the Underdogs this year, unless you're Houston, who has two Cougars in the bowl. Because I'm your very best friend, I removed the Underdogs from the list and placed them right here for your reading pleasure.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Dick Butkus Award Watch List

Tyus Bowser, Houston Cougars
Jeff Camilli, Fresno State Bulldogs
Kevin Davis, Colorado State Rams
Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State Bison
Shane Huber, Massachusetts Minutemen
Harvey Kangi, BYU Cougars
Calvin Munson, San Diego State Aztecs
T.J. Ricks, Old Dominion Monarchs
Auggie Sanchez, South Florida Bulls
Steven Taylor, Houston Cougars
Austin Valdez, Bowling Green Falcons
Tanner Vallejo, Boise State Broncos
Eric Wilson, Cincinnati Bearcats