clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Underdogs invade the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

The Jim Thorpe Award is bestowed upon the nation's finest collegiate defensive back, and we have 17 candidates looking to intercept one for the Underdogs.

Xavier Woods of Louisiana Tech looks to bring down a Jim Thorpe for the Underdogs
Xavier Woods of Louisiana Tech looks to bring down a Jim Thorpe for the Underdogs
Joshua Lindsey-USA TODAY Sports

Since 1986, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame has identified the nation's mightiest collegiate defensive back and awarded him the Jim Thorpe Award, named for the patron saint of Underdogs. If you passed the third grade, you know the story of Jim Thorpe, an all around bad-ass who pulled himself out of obscurity to become our Nation's greatest multi-sport athlete.

To date, only one Underdog has won a Jim Thorpe – the legendary Greg Myers from Colorado State in 1995. This year, 17 Underdogs look to end the 21 year drought. Always your good-looking and humble servant, I've extrapolated the Underdogs from the list, and I've given it to you, the people.

Underdogs who appear on the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Bobby Baker, Georgia State Panthers

Cody Brown, Arkansas State Red Wolves

Sean Chandler, Temple Owls

Jeremy Cutrer, Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders

Zach Edwards, Cincinnati Bearcats

Damontae Kazee, San Diego State Aztecs

Roland Ladipo, Air Force Falcons

Shawun Lurry, Northern Illinois Huskies

Demetrius Monday, Kent State Golden Flashes

Deatrick Nichols, South Florida Bulls

Jeremy Reaves, South Alabama Jaguars

DeJuan Rogers, Toledo Rockets

Boise Ross, Buffalo Bulls

Weston Steelhammer, Air Force Falcons

Jamar Summers, Connecticut Huskies

Andrew Wingard, Wyoming Cowboys

Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech Bulldogs