clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Biletnikoff Award has announced their semifinalists and G5 receivers are all over the list

Five receivers from the G5 are named semifinalists.

NCAA Football: Louisiana Tech at North Texas Sean Pokorny-USA TODAY Sports

Today The Biletnikoff Award has announced their semifinalists and out of the 10 players selected five hail from the G5.

Corey Davis (Western Michigan), Carlos Henderson (Louisiana Tech), Isaiah “Zay” Jones (East Carolina), Taywan Taylor (Western Kentucky), and Trent Taylor (Louisiana Tech) are the players who made the list.

All will have until the end of the regular season and Conference Championship Week to impress voters and get selected to appear on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The last player from the G5 to win the award was in 1998 when Louisiana Tech’s Troy Edwards brought home the hardware.

In the 22-year existence of The Biletnikoff Award a G5 receiver has only won it three times: Marcus Harris (Wyoming) in 1996, Randy Moss (Marshall) in 1997, and the aforementioned Edwards in ‘98.

The Biletnikoff Award is annually given to college football’s outstanding pass catcher regardless of position and out of the crop of receivers from the G5 this could be their best shot in a long time to stop the P5’s stranglehold on the award.