clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marshall's Michael Selby Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

Michael Selby will make his first start at center for Marshall when it welcomes Purdue to Joan C. Edwards Stadium Sept. 6 but is already viewed as one of the best in the nation after being named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

Falecia Collier/Falecia Collier Photos

Marshall football's Michael Selby is making a move that puts him at the center of attention on the Thundering Herd's offensive line after working at guard the past two seasons. The junior will move from right guard to center replacing former starting center Chris Jasperse and will make his first start at the position when the Herd welcomes Purdue to Joan C. Edwards Sept. 6.

While Selby looks to follow in the footprint of his processor Jasperse, he appears to be off to a solid start after being named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List earlier today. Jasperse is a former candidate of the award and is now a rookie with the Cincinnati Bengals after starting every game in his Herd career (53) and finishing with 4,040 snaps.

Selby started at right guard in all 14 games for the Herd last season in an offense that produced 559.2 total yards of offense a game, second only to nationally ranked and Big 12 member Baylor (581.5). Selby's action was limited in the latter part of the regular season, but returned to play all 80 snaps in the Herd's win over Northern Illinois in Boca Raton.

Selby was voted to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team and made his presence known during Marshall's Military Bowl win over Maryland after stepping for 26 snaps for starting guard Alex Schooler who went down early in the game with an injury. Selby was on of only seven true freshman to play for the Herd in 2013.

Selby is one of seven C-USA centers to make the list of 63.

The Rimington was established in 2000 after Dave Rimington, a two-time All-American center at Nebraska in 1981 and '82. Rimington was the only player to become a two-time winner of the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's finest college interior lineman.

Finalist for the Rimington will be announced Dec. 7 with the winner being announced in Lincoln, Neb. Jan. 16, 2016.