clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Appalachian State Coach Jerry Moore to receive the Neyland Trophy

The Mountaineers legend will be honored by the Knoxville Quarterback Club for his achievements in college football.

Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports

Former Appalachian State Head Coach Jerry Moore just keeps rolling in trophies ever since a miscommunication led to his forced retirement in 2012.  After entering the Southern Conference Hall of Fame and the College Football Hall of Fame in 2014, Moore has been named the recipient for this year's General Robert R. Neyland Trophy.

The trophy has been given every year since 1967 by the Knoxville Quarterback Club.  According to the website, the trophy honors one outstanding individual every year who has "contributed greatly to intercollegiate athletics."  Moore is no exception: as the coach for the Mountaineers, he accumulated a 215-87 record leading to a three-peat of national championships from 2005-2007.  Under Moore, Appalachian State also staged one of the biggest football upsets in history in 2007, beating then No. 5 Michigan 34-32 in front of 109,208 shocked fans and even more spectators on television.

This trophy is a great honor, and Moore will be joining in the company of Phil Fulmer, LaVell Edwards and other coaching greats by receiving the award.  However, just because he's retired now, doesn't mean that Moore can't pull a Chris Ault sometime in the near future to a team that needs him...