clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Georgia Southern Football Spring Practice Begins Today

New, 4 comments

(spring) FOOTBALL SEASON IS HEEEEERE!

Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

That's right y'all it's time to bust out the shoulder pads, face masks and ice packs cuz spring football season has arrived.

It's not much since we've still got a depressing amount of offseason left but March practice brings with it the promise of the spring scrimmage and the opportunity to daydream a little about next fall.

That is if you're a fan. For the players this is crunch time when the depth chart starts to take shape.

For the record, here's a rundown of the practice schedule:

Spring Football Practice Schedule
Wednesday, March 25
Friday, March 27
Saturday, March 28
Monday, March 30
Wednesday, April 1
Friday, April 3
Saturday, April 4
Monday, April 6
Wednesday, April 8
Friday, April 10
Saturday, April 11
Monday, April 13
Wednesday, April 15
Friday, April 17
Saturday, April 18 - Spring Game

Basically, the team will practice each Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday for the next three weeks. Georgia Southern returns five starters on offense and eight starters on defense, so there's a lot to figure out. The top two quarterbacks and running backs return for the 2014 Sun Belt champions but the rest of the offensive cast will be much different.

The practices and Blue/White game might also offer a hint as to whether Coach Willie Fritz wants to try and throw the ball a little more in year two. At any rate he's glad it's his second time around.

"Practice number one will be like practice number 10 last year," said Fritz. "We've got a lot of things in already, the NCAA allows you to meet a little more than you used to be able to, and we've got a lot of veteran players coming back. So we want to experiment a little bit with our offense, defense and kicking game schematically, but we also want to get better technique and fundamentals."

One thing I do know: Motivation should not be a factor today as none other than the legendary Archie Manning spoke to the team Tuesday.