Marshall Legends On College Football Hall of Fame Ballot


Michael Payton, Marshall's only Walter Payton Award winner, and Chris Parker, who holds almost every season and career rushing record, are both on this year's ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame. Payton helped lead Marshall to their first national championship at the I-AA level in 1992 on his way to the Walter Payton Award. Parker has the Marshall record for career rushing yards and touchdowns, and top 3 seasons in attempts, yards, and touchdowns. Parker and Payton are looking to join former running back Jackie Hunt, receivers Mike Barber and Troy Brown, national championship coach Jim Donnan, and back Harry "Cy" Young in the new Hall of Fame in Atlanta.